Joann Hanson Memorial Scholarship

Each year, the members of Aspen View Local No. 7 of the Alberta Teachers’ Association award up to three (3) scholarships of $1000.00 each to graduates of the school division who are entering their third, fourth, or fifth year in the Faculty of Education in the Province of Alberta.               

Eligible applicants must demonstrate satisfactory academic standing by sending a copy of their university transcripts with their application. Each application must be submitted in the form of an essay of approximately 500 words which outlines the applicants’ educational background, community and school involvement, future plans, and knowledge of the A.T.A’s duties and responsibilities. As part of the selection process, all candidates may be required to attend a personal interview.

A candidate is only eligible to receive this scholarship once.

For further guidelines, see

Please send applications to:

A.T.A Local #7 Treasurer, Shelly Gurba

4708 49 Ave Athabasca, AB T9S 1R3

Applications must be received by February 28, 2018.

Scholarships will be awarded before June 29, 2018

Please include contact information to all applications.